Lifestyle

£10,000 in 10 Months…

C23707EC-A332-4D2D-92A8-620982800933.jpg

I must say, before I start, that I’ve always been a saver… I rarely ever ‘splurge’ large amounts of money, and if I do, it will always be on something I’ve lusted after for an extremely long period of time, it’s rarely ever an impulse buy! I love having a goal to work towards, something that motivates and drives me…

A goal is something I consider to be a must; whether you want to save a couple of quid a day, however much a week, or a set amount a month, set yourself a goal. It can honestly be whatever – whether that be a holiday, a car, or a house – set it, and strive for it! The app ‘Money Box‘ helped me visualise this, telling me exactly how much each month I needed to put away in order to reach my target…

I set the goal of at least part of a house deposit, and to ensure I didn’t lose motivation, I created boards of inspiration on Pinterest! I also started buying ‘things’ for my house, and putting them in a box under my bed – cups and plates, cutlery, pictures and art – all in preparation for when I eventually move out! Guilt free shopping, as all the items have a purpose, which I loved!

I cannot say these words quick enough – transfer those funds, out of your normal bank account!

The secret is to trick yourself into thinking that that money doesn’t exist! On pay-day, I would transfer the money I wanted to save, out of my account on pay day, leaving myself just enough money to live; any extra that remained at the end of the month, I would transfer into my savings, or on occasion, treat myself – you may be saving money, but you still need to live a little and enjoy yourself!

I transferred the money out, deleted the banking app, and became blissfully ignorant to the money’s existence…

A small number of changes can also make a big difference in the long term – taking a lunch to work, rather than buying food every shift, looking for vouchers and going to restaurants that offer student discount, and having weekends in with friends, rather than going out all allow you to still live while saving money! I promise you, it all adds up…

It’ll be hard work, and you have to work for it! I would work sixty hour weeks during half term, and would say ‘yes’ to absolutely all the overtime that was offered; it won’t be easy – but it’s the things we work hardest for that will reward us the most!

21 thoughts on “£10,000 in 10 Months…

  1. I totally agree with creating a goal of how much you wanna save because you then have something to work too. I’m defo gonna download the app and hopefully, it can help me to become a saver.. shopping for things for your house must have spurred you on to save even more.. defo transferring money out into a different account is key so your not tempted to spend that money too

    Ronnie
    http://www.veronicabizzarri.com
    xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re such a hard worker! I’m the same, I don’t like spending too much if there isn’t a need, or if you could save the money instead. I think your tips are really good, and well done on your goal! xx

    Velvet Blush

    Like

  3. I’ve always been a saver too and do the same thing about transferring money. In fact I often aim to iversave just in case which has worked out well for me this time. I left my job in march fed up of it and ready to go to china to teach English. However the visa process has taken forever!! (I’ve finally got my appointment at the embassy next week) luckily because I iver saved for flights etc I’ve used that extra money to live off. Not ideal but it’s worked. I’ve just had to be feudal which as a backpacker anyway is a very normal thing for me

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

